Brait SE Board

Email This Page
Brait SE Board
The board acts as the de facto investment committee for the Group and has the final say on all investment related decisions. The current members of the Brait SE board are as follows:

Phillip Jabulani Moleketi (62)*

Independent Non-Executive Chairman 

Date appointed: 7 September 2009 
Qualifications: Advanced Management Programme (Harvard Business School in Boston), MSc (Financial Economics), post-graduate diploma in Economic Principles  
Former Deputy Minister of Finance of the Republic of South Africa and Gauteng Province MEC of Finance and Economic Affairs as well as a director of several companies listed on the JSE Limited. He is non-executive chairman of Harith, Vodacom and PPC Limited. He holds postgraduate economics and management qualifications from the University of London and Harvard Business School and has extensive international exposure, extensive strategic leadership skills and in-depth corporate governance experience in both the public and private sectors.

John Chester Botts (78)~ CBE

Independent Non-Executive Director

Date appointed: 29 January 2016 
Qualifications: BA (Williams College, Massachusetts) 
Mr Botts is senior advisor in the London office of investment firm Allen and Company and senior advisor to Corsair Capital; formerly non-executive chairman of Euromoney Institutional Investor plc and non-executive chairman of United Business plc. In 1987 he founded the investment banking and investment firm, Botts & Company Ltd, in conjunction with Allen & Company. Previously CEO of Citicorp’s investment bank in Europe, Middle East and Africa and chairman of Citicorp´s Venture Capital Investment Committee. He has extensive investment banking and private equity experience.

Alan Steven Jacobs (57)†

Independent Non-Executive Director

Date appointed: 19 February 2015 
Qualifications: MA (Cantab) 
Mr Jacobs is a British national based in London, United Kingdom. He is a solicitor of the Senior Courts of England and Wales and investment banker by training, and is the founder and director of Jacobs Capital, a corporate finance and investment firm. He is a former Managing Director of Citigroup and J Henry Schroder Wagg & Co. Limited, and serves as a non-executive director on several boards of companies, including Brait Mauritius Limited, Virgin Active, BE offices, Wearisma and Zoggs. He has extensive investment and advisory experience in the European retail, consumer, luxury goods and property sectors.

Dr Lawrence Leon Porter (67)†

Independent Non-Executive Director

Date appointed: 28 May 2013 
BA, BSc, DPhil (Oxon), Fellow of the British Computer Society, Chartered Information Technology Professional 
After a period of research in Experimental Psychology, Dr Porter was with IBM Corporation for twenty five years where he held various positions in Senior Management and as a Senior Consultant in Research and Development. He was a Technical Staff Member and an IBM Master Inventor. He holds numerous US patents in the field of Information Technology. He resides in Malta. 

Christopher Stefan Seabrooke (66)*

Independent Non-Executive Director

Date appointed: 19 June 2009 
Qualifications: BCom, BAcc, MBA, FCMA 
Mr. Seabrooke has been a director of over 25 stock exchange listed companies over the years. He is currently CEO of Sabvest Limited, Chairman of Metrofile Holdings Limited, Net1 UEPS Technologies Inc and Transaction Capital Limited, and a director of Rolfes Holdings Limited. He is a former Chairman of The South African State Theatre and former Deputy Chairman of the inaugural National Arts Council of South Africa.
Following the market announcement on 9 May 2018 advising inter alia that Dr Christo Wiese had resigned as Non-Executive Chairman of Brait South Africa Proprietary Limited (“BSAL”), he was appointed on behalf of Brait SE as Non-Executive Chairman of BSAL, which serves as a contracted advisor to the Brait SE Group, and to facilitate the transition from the broader stewardship role for Brait SE previously filled by Dr Wiese, and at the request of BSAL, he was appointed for a period as a non-executive director of Brait’s four main portfolio companies. In the case of Iceland Foods, Premier and New Look, that period ended in Q1 FY2020 and he is no longer a director of those companies. He remains a non-executive director of Virgin Active for the time being.

Hermanus Roelof Willem Troskie (49)‡

Independent Non-Executive Director

Date appointed: 27 July 2005
Qualifications: BJuris, LLB, LLM
Mr Troskie is the Managing Director – Private Clients at Maitland, a global advisory and administration firm. Mr Troskie is based in Luxembourg and has extensive experience in the areas of capital markets and corporate governance, with a particular interest in integrated structuring for entrepreneurs and their businesses. Mr Troskie is a non-executive director of a number of public and private companies, including Brait Malta Limited, Brait Mauritius Limited, Tradehold Limited and Ardagh Group S.A. He is a solicitor of the Senior Courts of England and Wales.

Dr Christoffel Hendrik Wiese (77) *

Non-Executive Director

Date appointed: 04 May 2011
Qualifications: BA LLB D.Com (h.c.) University of Stellenbosch, South Africa, D.Comm (Bus. Management) (h.c.) Nkhoma University, Malawi D. Tech: Marketing, Cape Peninsula University of Technology
Dr Wiese is chairperson of Shoprite Holdings Limited, Africa’s largest fast-moving consumer goods retail company with a total of more than 2 400 outlets trading in 15 countries in Africa and the Indian Ocean Islands, employing more than 148 000 people. 
Dr Wiese is a significant shareholder in a range of businesses throughout the world. He holds significant stakes in Brait SE Tradehold Ltd (UK based property investment company) and Invicta Holdings Ltd.. 
Dr Wiese has served on the boards of many listed companies over the years and is a past director of the SA Reserve Bank and former chairman of the Industrial Development Corporation of SA Ltd and Pepkor Holdings (Pty) Ltd. 
During 2015, Dr Wiese was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Sunday Times Top 100 Companies Awards; the All Africa Business Leaders Awards, as well as being inducted into the World Retail Hall of Fame. 
Dr Wiese appointed Mr Paul Roelofse as his alternate director to the Brait SE Board in place of Mr Jacob Wiese from 2 October 2019. 
~ American
† British
‡ Dutch
* South African